How to enable or disable the prompt before saving a normal template in Word 2010

When you are using any of the default templates provided by Word 2010 in your work and have made changes to it, then word will prompt you asking whether to save the changes to the template or not, if this options is enabled. You can disable this option to save the changes and your work which you have done using the default templates. Trace some steps mentioned below, they will guide you towards enabling or disabling of the "Prompt before saving Normal template" option in Word 2010.

Steps to enable or disable the prompt before saving a normal template in Word 2010: -

1. Invoking the "Word Options" dialog box is necessary to perform enabling and disabling of the above mentioned option. Choose a step to open dialog box for "Word Options", among the two mentioned under.

a) Find the "Microsoft Office" button in the Word ribbon and click on it, to expand its sub-options. Now click on the "Options" button under the "Word" tab among the sub options of "Microsoft Office" button.



Image 1

OR

b)
Find the "Microsoft Office" button in the Word ribbon and click on it, to expand its sub-options. Now click on the tab by name "Word" and then click on the tab by name "Options" located in the adjacent side and under the section "Microsoft Tools" of the "Word" tab.



Image 2

2. You will find that the dialog box for "Word Options" is now open. Click on the "Advanced tab from the left side of the dialog box for "Word Options" and then look for a section by name "Save" in the adjacent side of "Advanced" tab. After locating the "Save" section, you will see the first option in the section as "Prompt before saving Normal Template" and its checkbox. Now click in the checkbox to mark it as checked. This will enable the prompting for saving changes to the default template you've used by Word 2010

OR

You will find that the dialog box for "Word Options" is now open. Click on the "Advanced tab from the left side of the dialog box for "Word Options" and then look for a section by name "Save" in the adjacent side of "Advanced" tab. After locating the "Save" section, you will see the first option in the section as "Prompt before saving Normal Template" and its checkbox. Now click in the checkbox to mark it as unchecked (i.e. cleared). This will disable the prompting for saving changes to the default template you've used by Word 2010.



Image 3

3. Click the button by name "OK" located at the bottom of the "Word Options" dialog box to close it.



Image 4

After the tracing of above steps is done properly, you are now masterful enough to enable or disable prompt before saving a normal template option in Word 2010

More Application Articles